DISCUSSIONS

Hi Sallie

 From Sallie:
The Shad-bake excuse is largely a myth.  Rosser, Fitzhugh Lee and Pickett did retreat for a lunch of shad. But their whereabouts were known, and they were not far away. Pickett was retrieved by the cavalry when Five Forks was attacked. Sheridan was not born in Cavan or anywhere else that side of the Atlantic.

Hi Sallie, your mailbox was over quota and I couldn’t answer directly.
Regarding the Shad Bake – Civil War historian Shelby Foote disagrees with you.  I quote, “Neither (Pickett nor Fitzhugh Lee) told any subordinate where he was going or why.”  “no one knew where to find them.”

Regarding Sheridan’s birth place. I question the number of places his mother is said to have claimed as his birth place. If it were Albany, why did she just say so? You may be right, but I’m sticking to my version. My Grandfather’s home was “less than 200 yards from where the Irish claim Sheridan was born.” Furthermore, our family tradition claims that my ancestors witnessed Sheridan being carried to the boat. Also my uncles have stated that their grandmother was a Sheridan. I’ve not been able to verify whether either was correct. But nor can anyone verify that Sheridan wasn’t born in Ireland.

 

Julius Casear at Uxellodunum (Druids, Celts, and Romans)

Q- The original comment is hiding somewhere on my computer. But the commentator couldn’t understand why I was appalled at Caesar when he cut of the hands of the Celts who opposed him. To the commentator it was simply the nature of ancient warfare. Whereas, I believe it speaks to the arrogance of Caesar and his cruel nature. 

 

eBooks vs.printed copy

Q- From K.J. “My father is a graduate of North Catholic 1946. He had read an article about your book called The Life and Times of Liam O’Donnell. He is not a nook or computer guy, Is this book in paperback or hard copy?  I am having a difficult time finding it.

Thank you in advance.”

A- I’m sorry. At this time, the book is only available from Kindle, Nook, Smashwords, iBook etc. If your father was a computer guy, he could download “Kindle for PC or Nook for PC” for free, then purchase the book to read on a computer. I’ve ordered books in this manner before I purchased my first eBook reader.

 

 

Accomplishments of the Celtic Civilization

Q- This question came from P.G. who is doing research on the Celts. “What do you think is the greatest accomplishment of the Celtic Civilization?”

A- Many people associate the arrival of the Celts and the Druids as occurring at the same time. I, on the other hand believe the Druid religion emerged from an even more ancient one which may have begun in Turkey. See my discussion regarding the megaliths in Western Civilization. There were over 50,000 megaliths, so in my view a religion (possibly the Druids) had to have been behind such fervor.  Both Julius Caesar and I believe the Druids originated in the British Isles. Regarding the Celts, in my opinion, they originally emigrated from the Steppes of Russia and came together as a civilization in Germany’s Hartz Mountains. They brought the domesticated horse and iron to Europe. Where they became masters in using bronze tools and invented steel. Because Europe at that time was dense forest, most cultures clung to rivers and lakes. The Celts, on the other hand, developed the iron-tired spoke wheel. There are many examples of their using these on their wagons and chariots. Many of their weapons were copied by the Romans, including chainmail. There of course is Celtic art. But in answer to your question, I’d choose their contributions to agriculture – the iron plow, the wheeled harvester, fertilization, and rotation of crops. These enabled Europeans to gather in communities, rather than just be hunters and wanderers.  Many European cities, including London and Paris, were originally Celtic settlements. I’d suggest you read Barry Cunliffe’s book, The Celtic World. Hope this short introduction gives you some ideas.  Good luck with your research. I’d like to see the finished product.

 

Leave a Reply

