Julius Caesar at Uxellodunum

I’ve always been disturbed by the evil treatment of the Aquitani Celtic warriors (Gauls to the Romans) for their bravery in defending their stronghold.

Caesar finally overcame their fierce resistance by cutting off their water supply. He felt free to act harshly for he believed he had a reputation for clemency. “I, Gaius Julius Caesar, have been too lenient with these ungrateful natives of Gaul. For far too long, they have avoided Rome’s rightful leadership. Rebellion after rebellion is too much for our worthy and brave troops to endure from barbarians such as these. I am well known for my clemency. Few would think me unjust and cruel if, for once, I were to order the punishment those who defy us justly deserve. Let this message go out to all those who would think to oppose the might of Rome.”

        On Caesar’s orders, his soldiers cut off the hands of the Celtic defenders.

        My issue was how to get this into Druids, Celts, and Romans, since the atrocity occurred hundreds of years later. I finally decided to use my author’s prerogative. I had Master Druid Munli place Celtic Chieftain Conel in a trance, during which he participates in the battle for Uxellodunum. This sets the stage for Conel’s desire to meet with these Romans, leading to the Celtic invasion of Rome in circa 387 BC—the first recorded event of Celts clashing with Romans.

 

Leave a Reply

