Irish Wars for Feedom

theirish-Americanstory.com blog wouldn’t be complete without some reference to the Irish wars of the early 1900s. I have a personal interest since my father and his father were living in Ireland during this period. A Cavan barmaid’s scream, “He’s a Yank,” saved my father from being run through by the Black and Tan.

When I first started The Last of the Fenians, it was to be a fictional novel about the Irish Republican Brotherhood seizing the Titanic’s sister ship, and there’s still a bit of that included. But as I started to research the period, I came across a book on the internet about an Irish division in Gallipoli. Until then, I had always thought Gallipoli was solely an Australian/New Zealand operation. I wasn’t alone. It wasn’t until 2010 that Ireland’s President Mary McAleese went to Turkey to pay tribute to the thousands of her countrymen buried there. That’s when my writing took a path of its own.

Despite the strong feelings of many that Irishmen should never have worn a British uniform. I don’t agree, therefore, I included the battles of WWI in The Last of the Fenians, an oversight by most Irish historians and long in need of closure.

Ireland’s freedom had been won on the streets of Dublin and in the hills of Cork and Tipperary. The right to nationhood, however, was earned in the gullies of Gallipoli and the trenches of Flanders.

Leave a Reply

